Monsters of Folk

September 14, 2009

When I heard Conor Oberst, Jim James, Mike Mogis, and M. Ward had formed a band together, I wasn’t sure how to feel about it at first. My initial assumption was that it would be the perfect collaboration, since Bright Eyes, My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band, and M. Ward have all created music that I love. However, then a friend got me thinking that maybe their music would be better kept separate; Maybe the end product of such different musicians teaming up wouldn’t be as incredible as we all anticipated?

After finally hearing the album today, I have to say that my first prediction was right on; I was wrong to ever doubt them. The vocal harmonies are some of the best I’ve heard since Fleet Foxes’ self-titled. Conor’s uniquely rough voice compliments the more gentle vocals of the others, creating an absolutely beautiful sound.

The album has no favored influence; You can hear elements of each musician’s other projects combined in every track.

Check them out.

Monsters of Folk – Temazcal
Monsters of Folk – Sandman, the Brakeman and Me

monsters-of-folk

One Response to “Monsters of Folk”

  1. Mark said

    I don’t know who you are, but we have the EXACT same taste in music. I can’t tell you how excited I am for this album to be released!

Leave a Reply

