Brand New – Daisy

August 30, 2009

Well, I just downloaded the leak of Brand New’s highly anticipated upcoming release, Daisy (I do fully intend on purchasing it when it comes out); I have to say, I’m impressed. I’ve always liked Brand New, but I’ve never been able to get that into them. However, with this album, I found myself somewhat in awe while listening. It made me jump a few times, with some surprising transitions, but these songs seem to just really make sense together.

I jotted down my reactions to every song while lying in bed, so I figured I’d just re-write those on here, instead of typing up a formal review…

Vices  Old record quality sounding, or maybe it’s in my head. Female’s voice, sounds like an old song, though if it is, I don’t know it – could very be well be a Brand New original interpreted by an incredibly stylistically different vocalist just as much as any old song used as an intro for this song. COMPLETELY startled in my dark room, very HARD sound. Solid bass line. Screaming. Distortion. Not sure if this means the rest of the record will be like this; it’s not typical Brand New, but it’s working for me.

Bed  MUCH softer, track one threw me off a bit; not that I didn’t like it, but this sound is one I definitely prefer. Pretty mellow track, nothing special, but there’s something about it that I love. I’m liking this album already.

At the Bottom  “We never are what we intend.” I’ve already heard this one, but it’s still so easy to get into. DISTORTION. Buried vocals. Now they’re back.

Gasoline  Straight into drums. Hard vocals. Simple guitar, in comes bass, now it’s coming together, and it’s sounding loud, and sounding great. Is it just me or is this guitar at 1:25 sounding practically identical to the beginning of Taking Back Sunday’s Error:Operator, only in a slightly different key? 2:30, sudden halt after the last line – “Try to back away.” Sounds like an emergency. Helicopters, sirens… Now just a high pitched noise speeding up, making me write faster, making me somewhat nervous, but for what?

You Stole  Soft guitar and soft vocals. I’m calm again. REVERB! “If I’m a liar and you’re a thief, at least we both know where the other one sleeps.” Kicking in at the halfway point of these six minutes, now it’s dying back down for the chorus, and now it’s back, it’s louder. Great way to end it with only drums.

Be Gone  I see a desert. Heat waves. Distorted vocals, what’s he saying? It doesn’t matter, the guitar sounds so damn good with the bass drum. Part of me wishes this were longer, though I know that wouldn’t make sense musically.

Sink  Making me tap my pencil against this notebook. Great transitions, wow. Sudden end.

Bought A Bride  Awesome bass. 2:06 reminds me of another older song of theirs, I can’t think of the name, because I’m so focused on this song, but it doesn’t matter.

Daisy  I really like this, doing some subtle head banging, I must admit, even though it’s past 2 a.m. and I’m alone and lying in bed.

In A Jar  KILLER BASS. This is well produced.

Noro  This album keeps going back and forth from chill to hard sounding, more so than other Brand New albums. It works. Back to the female vocals + piano at the end. I feel like things are about to get loud again. Oh wait, this is the last song, so that can’t be. I love when albums start/end the same, a cycle completed. That was fucking sick.

Brand-New-Daisy-Artwork

One Response to “Brand New – Daisy”

Leave a Reply

