day 3!

August 16, 2009

Day Three: Sunday, 8/9.

Of course, Sunday was even hotter than Saturday; however, this time I was ready for it.

1:30. Started the day at the PlayStation stage to hear Portugal. The Man, one of my favorite bands at the moment. Church Mouth, Lay Me Back Down, And I, The Sun, New Orleans, Bellies Are Full, My Mind, Chicago, 1989, and M80 were played, and I was in awe the entire time. Gourley’s vocals were flawless and sounded incredible live; no wonder he was named vocalist of the year by more than one publication last year. I was hoping they would play more songs off of The Satanic Satanist, but their set was still probably my favorite out of everything that I saw.

DSC03886


(Sorry for my shaky hand)

3:30. I had heard nothing but good things about Dan Deacon’s live performances, so I was looking forward to his set at the Vitamin Water stage. The crowd loved him and was willing to do anything he asked, even when it came down to massaging the head of the stranger in front of you, kneeling down in the middle of songs, or making a tunnel throughout the crowd for people to dance through. It was hilarious, and the crowd got pretty crazy with all the dancing.

4:30. Vampire Weekend sounds exactly the same live as they do on album; not surprising and not a bad thing, either.

5:00. Passion Pit’s crowd was a huge dance party! I had a great time and considered skipping half an hour of Boys Noize in order to hear the whole set… but decided not to.

5:30. Finally, it was time for my one of my most anticipated performances of Lolla… BOYS NOIZE. I danced more in that crowd than I ever have in my life, and it ended up being one of my favorite sets of the weekend, if not my number one.

6:45. Left fifteen minutes early from Perry’s to hear some of Snoop’s set, since I missed all of it at Bamboozle 2008 and figured this could be my only chance to see him. We didn’t go in the crowd, but it was still sick; though I was starting to feel exhausted.

7:00. Back to Perry’s for MSTRKRFT, and was immediately full of energy again, as they started playing Easy Love while we made our way to the front of the crowd. It wasn’t as fun as Boys Noize had been, but there was almost as much dancing. Threw my camera in the air just once towards the end..

8:00. Came out of the MSTRKRFT crowd and just relaxed in the grass during Band of Horses. It was pleasant to listen to, but my ears were still ringing from all the electronica (not that I minded).

Overall, Lollapalooza was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had; I was able to see bands that I’d never dreamed of actually seeing. It was my first real music festival (I really don’t count Bamboozle), and I loved it. I hope to be able to check out either Bonnaroo, SXSW, or Coachella next year!

Leave a Reply

